Phillies 9, Nationals 8

@&#$% ?<>&*! #@%$^ +!!$%#@ &%$*# !!!!!!!!!!!
screeeeeeam.jpg*ahem* Sorry about that…I had to get it off my chest……

I was going to title this blog entry “Phillies spoil Nationals home opener,” but the Nats spoiled it for themselves. They had chances to put the game away, but instead they gave the game away.

Of course, the game was marred by the tragic passing of longtime Phillies broadcaster Harry Kalas, who collapsed in the press box at Nationals Park several hours before the game began today. An announcement was made at the ballpark before the start of the game, and there was a moment of silence to honor Mr. Karas.

harrykalastribute.jpgThat choked me up a bit. My sincere condolences to the Kalas family, his friends and loved ones, the Phillies organization, and Phillies fans.

There was also a moment of silence to mark the tragic death of Silver Spring, MD native Nick Adenhart.

nickadenharttribute.jpgThat also choked me up.

As for the game itself, here again is the good, the bad, and the ugly —

The Good:

  • Cristian Guzman’s 5-5 day
  • Home runs from Elijah Dukes, Adam Dunn, and Ryan Zimmerman
  • 8 runs scored
  • Daniel Cabrera giving up just 1 earned run despite his usual wildness
  • Impressive catches by Lastings Milledge in center field (!!) and Elijah Dukes in right field

The Bad:

  • Cristian Guzman limping off the field with a hamstring injury in the 9th inning

The Ugly:

  • Daniel Cabrera walking in a run in the 2nd inning
  • Two consecutive HBP by Saul Rivera in the 7th inning, followed by a Ryan Howard HR
  • Three Errors (two by Anderson Hernandez, one by Adam Dunn)
  • The new statues honoring Frank Howard, Josh Gibson, and Walter Johnson
  • 0-7

Speaking of those statues…they really aren’t as horrible in person as they look in pictures. In fact, parts of them are really quite amazing.

hondostatueface.jpgThe detail here is fantastic! I just really hate that “motion” effect. It’s waaaay too artsy for my (admittedly simple) artistic taste.

Oh, and I’ve officially decided that I’m afraid of the new, “teenage” Screech. Yes, he has slimmed down so that he no longer looks like a pregnant chicken…but now he looks possessed!

scaryskinnyscreech.jpgYikes!!

Oh, and — big surprise here — once again, Teddy failed to win the Presidents Race. Abe won, as usual.

abewins.jpg
Back to the Nats…it’s frustrating to see bits of improvement in the team that don’t translate into wins. *sigh* Maybe the off day tomorrow will help, and then the Nats will come back strong on Wednesday.

(All photos from Nationals Park taken by me today.)

3 comments

  1. rrrt

    Will poor Teddy EVER win a race? After the shock of Harry’s death, and the fact that the Nats were 0-6, I fully expected the Phillies to get thrashed. Amazingly they pulled it out for Harry. I would almost bet money that your guys will win one of the remaining two games in this series – it’s hard to imagine that they could go 0-9. Try not to turn all red like that picture, it wouldn’t be good for your health. πŸ™‚
    Sue
    Rants, Raves, and Random Thoughts

  2. diamonddiva

    I’m convinced that Teddy will never win a race…which is stupid, IMO. As for me turning red…it may not be good for my health, but at least my face would match my Nationals cap! πŸ˜‰

  3. diamonddiva

    By the way, I didn’t know that Harry had passed away at Nationals Park until I got home from the game and heard it on the news. It just made the tragedy that much deeper. 😦

Leave a Reply

