Heeee’s Baaaaaaaack!!

Alex Rodriguez sure knows how to make an entrance.

A-Rod hit the very first pitch he saw of the 2009 regular season, off of Jeremy Guthrie, into the left-field seats at Oriole Park, getting things started for the Yankees with a 3-run home run as they defeated the Baltimore Orioles tonight, 4-0. It was the only hit of the game for A-Rod, but it was certainly an interesting way to let everyone know that he’s back.

Apparently, CC Sabathia was particularly happy to see his teammate return, because he pitched a complete game gem. He allowed just 4 hits, with 8 strikeouts and one walk. CC’s once bloated ERA is now below 4 (3.94, to be exact). This was the CC Sabathia that the Yankees paid $161 million for last December.

As a completely atypical Yankees fan, I have to admit that I enjoy a Yankees win over the Orioles far more than a Yankees win over the Red Sox. Die-hard Yankee fans can jeer and taunt me all they wish, but that’s just the way I feel. So needless to say, I was pleased about tonight’s win.

Some friends and I will be attending tomorrow’s game at the Yard. I’m looking forward to seeing Phil Hughes pitch…I hope he pitches tomorrow the way he did in his first start last month, against the Tigers, rather than the way he pitched against Boston earlier this week!

3 comments

  1. juliasrants

    Sorry Shelley, I have a Yankees’ fan friend who is going to the game today and I’ve been telling him that I hope that Hughes pitches as well as he did against Boston! I didn’t know you would be there also. A-Rod certainly came back with authority. It will be interesting to see how he continues to play.

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

  2. diamonddiva

    Well, Julia, Hughes didn’t pitch as well as he did against Boston. :/
    Megan, I’m sorry to hear that you were also at that mess of a game yesterday. And thanks for the compliment.

Leave a Reply

