I hate West Coast games!

*yawn*

I hadn’t planned on staying up to watch the Nationals/Giants game in San Francisco. I wanted to watch the first couple of innings to see if a certain event would take place, which did happen in the first inning. I refuse to discuss the event because I don’t want to jinx it. (Hint: it involves Ryan Zimmerman…and that’s all I’ll say.) I ended up falling asleep on the sofa, and I woke up as the 6th inning was coming to an end. The score was Giants, 5 Nationals 1. Half asleep, I was just going to check my email before going to bed. And then the Nats scored 3 runs in the 7th inning…so I kept watching…and they scored another 3 runs in the 8th inning. I’m wide awake now! Mind you, the game is in the bottom of the 9th, and the Nats only have a 1 run lead. I’m hoping Joe Beimel can hold that 1 run lead and get the save. Two outs…and Beimel just gave up a single. 😦

UPDATE: Game over. Needing just one more out, Beimel gave up a walk-off home run — the Giants won, 9-7. I’m sooooooo happy I stayed up for this! NOT.

Thank goodness for the certain event that happened in the first inning…The Event That Shall Not Be Named……..

By the way, is there a more beautiful setting for a ballpark in the majors than AT&T Park? I’ve never been there, but the views of the ballpark and surrounding area look incredible on TV.

5 comments

  1. juliasrants

    I too hate west coast swings! The Red Sox – thankfully! – are on their last one of the season. After watching the Bruins and Celtics games, there was no way I could stay up and watch all of the Red Sox game.

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

  2. diamonddiva

    Julia, thank goodness the Nats are on their way home for a while. I need the sleep…although I am, unfortunately, wide awake at the moment. 😦
    Sue, I’ll work on a better acronym for Ryan’s NEXT hit streak!

  3. jestudley

    It’s an absolutely beautiful place to watch a baseball game. I am bias, but have also been to about 15 other stadiums. My favorite seats are actually in the upper deck. Watching the boats, the bridge, the sea, it’s breathtaking. And, the fact that they play baseball there is pretty freaking cool. If you ever get a chance, I highly recommend watching a game there. : )

    Jes
    http://giantsjabber.mlblogs.com/

  4. diamonddiva

    I haven’t traveled to a lot of places in my life, but one of my all-time favorite vacations was the one I took in San Francisco back in 1991. That was long before AT&T Park was built, of course, but like the song says, I left my heart in San Francisco. If I do get to go back one of these days, it will have to be during baseball season so I can go to a game at AT&T Park!

Leave a Reply

