Joba vs. the Huff

The Yankees and Orioles will be going at it again tonight, with Joba Chamberlain on the mound. The so-called controversy between Chamberlain and the Orioles’ Aubrey Huff, regarding Huff’s post home run fist pumps, apparently is a bigger deal to Yankees fans and the media than it is to either of the two players involved.

The Bronx braces for Joba Chamberlain vs. Aubrey Huff
by Marc Carig/The Star-Ledger
Thursday May 21, 2009, 11:45 AM

NEW YORK — The last time they met, Orioles slugger Aubrey Huff took it upon himself to give Yankees starter Joba Chamberlain a dose of his own medicine.

And while the two square off again on Thursday, both have played down any lingering feelings from Huff’s over-the-top home run trot, which included some Chamberlain-esque fist pumping, which was meant to mock pitcher’s strikeout celebration. Their comments indicate there will be no brawling in the Bronx….

I’d like to think I’ve had a pretty good career in nine years and nobody talks about it. I do one fist pump to the Yankees and I’m like a national celebrity. It’s crazy. I’ve never had so much pub over something so silly.”…

“I got a lot of calls,” Huff said. “I’ve never had my phone blow up so much. I had texts from around the league, guys laughing at it, joking about it, family members. I was like, ‘My gosh, I had no idea it’d get this kind of reaction.'”…

LINK TO ARTICLE

I mentioned in my post late Tuesday night/early Wednesday morning that thought what Huff did was probably applauded by other players in the AL. Judging from Huff’s comments in the final paragraph of the artcile excerpt above, I was right.

Boys will be boys.

Huff, by the way, is 0 for 8 in the series and 2 for 10 lifetime versus Chamberlain. So I guess he had a good reason for those home run trot fist pumps…he just doesn’t get a lot of hits off of Chamberlain!

2 comments

  1. diamonddiva

    Definite bummer about Joba. And…50? I wonder how I managed that? LOL Thanks for the congrats!

Leave a Reply

