The Nationals win…no errors, and no blown save…WOW!

OK, for the time being, I will refrain from referring to Joel Hanrahan as Joel Suckrahan. He actually got a save tonight as the Nationals avoided a second straight 4-game sweep by beating the Pirates, 5-4.Not that Suckrahan Hanrahan pitched well — he did not — but he somehow managed to keep the Pirates from scoring in the 9th inning.

I was at tonight’s game. Not only did the Nats win, but for just the second time this season, I didn’t have to deal with a rain delay. In fact, the weather was perfect!

Tonight’s game marked the major league debut of Craig Stammen, whose performance was actually better than his line indicates. Stammen pitched into the 7th inning, giving up 4 runs on 4 hits (including a home run), with a walk and 3 strikeouts. He was perfect through 4 innings before finally giving up a hit, and eventually a run, in the 5th. Things fell apart for Stammen in the 7th inning when he began to tire, and the Pirates took the lead. Manny Acta probably left him in the game a couple of pitchers too long, but considering how horrendous our bullpen is, I really can’t blame him for being hesitant to take Stammen out. Despite that 7th inning, Stammen was very impressive…he worked fast and threw strikes. That’s not something that can be said about any of Daniel Cabrera’s efforts this season.

I was ready to leave the game after the 7th inning. I had witnessed Stammen’s debut, so I was pleased. But the Pirates had taken the lead, and Stammen was out of the game, and I had little faith that the bullpen would prevent any additional scoring. I went to the bathroom and was on my way to the gate when someone with a funnel cake walked by me. I loooooooove funnel cakes (yes, I know they are bad for me…they are nothing but fried fat covered with sugar…but they are soooo gooooood…..). Seeing that funnel cake made me want one, so I did get a funnel cake. I sat at one of the picnic tables behind section 142 (or thereabouts) to eat it while watching the game. But then the Nats took the lead once more, so I ended up sticking around until the end of the game.

It was nice to see the Nats battle back in the 8th inning to regain the lead. Ryan Zimmerman’s single scored Cristian Guzman, and Adam Dunn got it done with a single that scored Nick Johnson. And I have to mention the nice catch Zimm made in foul territory for the first out in the 6th inning. He leaned over the rail and grabbed a ball that otherwise would have dropped into the front row of seats. I checked out the video of it when I got home from the game…a fan in the front row looked like he was going to try to catch the ball but pulled back at the last moment, allowing Zimm to make the catch. After he caught the ball, Zimm gestured towards the fan to thank him for not interferring. That was pretty funny!

And then came the 9th inning and Joel Suckrahan Hanrahan. Adam LaRoche hit a fly ball to deep center, driving Willie Harris all the way to the wall to make the catch (whew…thanks, Willie!), and then Brandon Moss singled. Pretty much everyone in the ballpark figured that was it…Joel was about to blow another one. But he got the final two K’s, much to the crowd’s delight, and the Nationals were finally winners. The seven game losing streak is history.

Next up…interleague play with the Orioles coming to DC, in the Battle of the Beltways. Two crappy, last place teams…[sarcasm] boy oh boy, this should be an exciting series! [/end sarcasm]

5 comments

  1. popejonash

    I can’t think of anything worse than seeing the Nats and the Os. I’ve seen the Nationals plenty enough to put me off watching them for life and it’s not as if Baltimore are great. I loved going to see the Yanks at Camden, but there’s just something off-putting about Washington.Congrats on #50 on the list though. I love your blog. Keep up the good work.Ashhttp://ashleymarshall.mlblogs.com

  2. diamonddiva

    Jane, I was surprised the first time I saw funnel cakes at the ballpark. I always associate them with county or state fairs. They’re a nice treat!
    Julia, I don’t know if it was good for the Nats, but the fact that I stayed to eat that funnel cake was certainly good for my taste buds. LOL
    Unfortunately, Sue, I do know what usually happens in the 7th inning and beyond, where the Nats are concerned (particularly the bullpen). It gets tiresome enough watching the bullpen implode on TV…it’s far worse to witness it in person. :/
    Ash, depending on who’s pitching for the Nationals, innings 1-6 can be pretty good, especially when the offense is cranking out runs. It’s just innings 7-9 (and sometimes beyond) that are usually absolute drek. Thanks for the congrats on my ranking, and for the compliments on my blog. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

