Yankees vs. Nationals interleague series

yanksnatsbigapple.gifOK…this is it…well, almost it…one more day until the Yankees/Nationals 3 game interleague series at Yankee Stadium. I’m still going slightly bonkers over this series, trying to decide if I should root for one team over the other, or just cheer for both teams and not care about the outcome. Should I happen to take leave of my senses and root for the Nationals over the Yankees in this series, it would be completely irrelevant. Why? Because I am 99.9 percent sure that the Yankees will easily sweep this series, and at least one of the games will closely resemble yesterday’s Yankees/Mets blowout for the Yankees. I suspect this series will be quite an(other) ugly one for the Nationals.

Without further ado, here are my predictions for this series.

Tuesday, June 16 — CC Sabathia vs. Shairon Martis
My prediction: Yankees 12, Nationals 1.

While with the Brewers, Sabathia shut out the Nats last August, 5-0. Either Ryan Zimmerman or Adam Dunn will hit a solo home run early in the game for the Nationals, and then Sabathia will shut down the Nats offense and pitch a complete game. Martis will pitch well for 5 innings, keeping the score fairly close. With the Yankees leading, Martis will be replaced by Kip Wells, who will give up 5 or 6 runs…and the rout will be on.

Wednesday, June 17 — Chien-Ming Wang vs. John Lannan
My predicition: Yankees 7, Nationals 4.

This could be the final test for Wang. If he pitches poorly against the Nationals, his future in pinstripes could be in serious jeopardy. If the Nationals manage to win a game in this series, this wwould be the game they win. But it’s not gonna happen. Wang will miraculously pitch well for a full 7 innings. Lannan will pitch very well for 6 innings but get very little run support, and then the Nationals bullpen will once again implode, allowing the Yankees to cruise to a victory.

Thursday, June 18 — Joba Chamberlain vs. Craig Stammen
My prediction: Yankees 8, Nationals 5.

For some reason, I have a feeling there will be some hit batters on both sides, and a bench clearing push-and-shove (as opposed to a bench clearing brawl — no punches thrown, just some pushing snd shoving). Someone on the Nationals will have a hissy fit over Chamberlain’s post-strikeout gesticulations, batters will be hit, and minor mayhem will follow. The umpires will shoo everyone back to their respective dugouts, and the Yankees will complete the sweep.

As Forrest Gump would say, that’s all I have to say about that.

5 comments

  1. diamonddiva

    Not gonna happen, Julia. Frankly, I’d be surprised if the Nats managed to win any of their games against the Yankees, Blue Jays, or Red Sox. They’re just a mess. *sigh* On the other hand, I wouldn’t be upset to see the Yankees win 3 straight…sorry! LOL

  2. diamonddiva

    I do support the Nats, Jane. I really do support my guys…often to the amazement of people who wonder how I can support a team that’s so dreadful. (It’s called loyalty.) But I am also a realist…and realistically speaking, the Nationals have virtually no chance against the Yankees. Mind you, I’m not going to be disappointed if the Nats do win a game in this series! Shocked beyond belief, but not disappointed.

  3. djhansel

    Hey, this is personal…i´m Hansel, a dominican Yankees´fan. I have a Mlb Blog named “yankeesdr” and i would like you tell me how i can add news, images, visitors counter, standings and others things.

    you can write me to: djhansel123@hotmail.com

    Take care,
    Hansel

Leave a Reply

