Number 27

Well, the World Series is over, and the New York Yankees are once again the champions. New York celebrated with a parade yesterday and the presentation of the key to the city.

Congratulations to the Yankees…you were the best team in baseball this year, and you truly deserve this.

ws_trophy.jpegAnyone who has bothered to read about me, or who has read some of the first few posts in this blog, knows that I became a Yankees fan — actually a baseball fan — because of former Orioles and Yankees pitcher Mike Mussina. In the last paragraph of this post, I stated that I knew the Yankees would win because had Mussina retired one year too soon. I was right.

I’ve been thinking about Mussina through the entire postseason, as well as through much of the latter half of the regular season. Earlier in the season, when the Yankees were 0-8 vs. Boston and lost 2 out of 3 games to the 19-46 Nationals, including their only shutout at Yankee Stadium, I admit that I had a few doubts about how this season might turn out! But then I reminded myself that Moose had retired, which meant that the Yankees would, in fact, pull it out and somehow and win it all. I’m pleased that the Yankees won. I didn’t particularly want the Phillies to beat them, nor did I want the Phillies to win the World Series two years in a row regardless of who their opponent was. I’m happy for the “old guys” — Derek Jeter, Andy Pettitte and Jorge Posada — for getting ring #5. I’m happy for Alex Rodriguez, because even though I can’t stand the little fart, he managed to shut out all the distractions and all the crap (self-inflicted, of course), and he just played the game…quite well, in fact. (If he could just learn to simply play ball and keep his mouth shut, he’d be far less insufferable.) And I’m especially happy for Hideki Matsui, who has dealt with his share if injury issues in recent years. His knees may be shot, but his bat was more than enough in Game 6, and his MVP Award is well-deserved. If this turns out to be his final performance for the Yankees, it was one hell of a way to make an exit.

And yet………

I can’t help but feel some pangs of sadness, disappointment, and even some anger over this win…a year too late…actually, eight years too late. The Yankees should have won #27 eight years ago Wednesday night…that horse was long since been bludgeoned to death on my message board, so I don’t really want go there in depth again. In all honesty, those feelings do temper my happiness about Wednesday night’s win. I can’t help it, I won’t make excuses for it, and I won’t apologize for it…that’s just the way it is.

I have no doubt whatsoever that Mussina remains happy and at peace with his decision to retire. But I also remember his comments on WFAN back in February, when he mentioned his disappointment at never having gotten a World Series ring. This just seems to be his lot, considering how many “almosts” he’s had in his career. I’m sure Mike is happy for his former teammates, but I can’t help wondering if he’s feeling a bit of disappointment that #27 came a year too late for him. I know I’m certainly disappointed. I’m sure that it bothers me far more than it bothers him. But I do wonder what he might have been thinking the other night after the Yankees won Game 6. I was thinking, Just his luck…he got there a year too late and left a year too early…….

What can I say…I’m definitely NOT a typical Yankees fan! LOL

6 comments

  1. Jane Heller

    I’m sure Mussina does feel like he missed out. But he also strikes me as a very reasonable guy who wanted to go out on top and did. He had a great career, despite the “almosts.” Too bad Cashman didn’t sign CC and Tex while he was still playing!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  2. thefreak

    I felt the same exact way about Giambi. Difference is Giambi is still playing. Just not as a Yankee. Then I got to thinking, after all the years of of Giambi being a Yankee. He wasn’t the answer – he was part of the problem. I hate to think of Moose the same way, but maybe his locker room game day traditions didn’t go over well. I ‘heard’ he was difficult to deal with on game day.

    Moose and Giambi were to former Yanks that I REALLY wanted to see win a ring.

    excellent blog

  3. diamonddiva

    Jane, you’re so right about Mike wanting — or at least hoping — to go out on a high note. There are other great pitchers who haven’t been so lucky…Greg Maddux leaps immediately to mind. Maddux is a lock for the hall of fame, but his career went out with a whimper, not a bang. I know he doesn’t regret his decision to retire when he did. And as I said, I’m sure that I’m far more disappointed than he is about #27 coming a year too late for him. After the 2001 season, I remember wondering if maybe he had joined the Yankees a year too late. As it turns out, he did. But I am quite sure that Moose himself does not feel that way! It’s just me and my own weirdness.
    thefreak (it feels very odd referring to stranger that way! LOL), I “heard” various stories about Mussina being difficult to deal with, period…I heard those stories from the media, not from his teammates. Of course, I never had access to the Yankees clubhouse, so I have no first-hand knowledge of what Mussina’s teammates thought of his game day preparations. But there is no doubt in my mind that Mussina’s game day routine was not the reason why he never won a World Series ring with the Yankees. Giambi was a cool dude…it’s too bad he never got a ring with the Yankees either. And thanks for the compliment about my blog.

  4. devilabrit

    If this was Matsui’s last performance for the Yankees then it was definately one to remember… ironic though that last year the last hit Pat Burrell got for the Phillies would be the hit that put the winning runner in a position to score the winning run of the World Series…. this could become a trend for the big hitters in the winning game of the World Series…maybe thats why none of the other hitters were hitting..hmmmm:-)
    ~peter
    Outside the Phillies Looking In
    http://devilabrit.mlblogs.com

  5. diamonddiva

    So Peter, maybe it’s bad luck for players to have the World Series winning hit? LOL
    Sue, I’m generally a bit more…umm…descriptive where A-Rod is concerned. But I can’t describe him here the way I’d like to describe him because I’m pretty sure there are rules against the use of obscenities!

Leave a Reply

